June 14, 2015
For Immediate Release

Gander, NL- Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador held their 80th Annual General Meeting and Annual Awards Banquet and Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony this weekend in Gander with 250 delegates and award winners in attendance.


A summary of some the items reported during this year’s AGM include:

An announcement that the St. John’s Privateers will host the 2016 Major Midget Atlantic Championship being held in the new arena being constructed in C.B.S. from March 31-April 3.

A Governance Review committee, lead by Chair of Senior Hockey, Gary Gale, has been formed to review the governance of Hockey NL in relation to voting structure among all divisions, councils and committees.

A committee has been created to review the current Midget and Bantam AAA female programs to determine if there should be consideration on a provincial league for this age and skill level.
The Minor Hockey delegates determined to establish some form of non-body checking options for Bantam and Midget players in the province. A small working group will review information over the summer with recommendations being presented during the fall meetings.

Junior Hockey announced the Avalon Jr. Capitals will host the 2016 Don Johnson Cup in late April.

Senior Hockey approved an amendment to the import regulation that will address the eligibility of players in their first year when they reside in the province.

The Referees division gather information from all the key stakeholders during a summit on Saturday and will develop a strategic plan for the beginning of the season that focuses on recruitment, retention, development and supervisions.

The Officers of Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador elected:

Jack Lee (Goulds) President
Murray Roberts (Botwood) Vice President
Gerry Taylor (St. John’s) Chair – Junior
Gary Gale (Hampden) Chair – Senior
Arnold Kelly (Goose Bay) Chair – Minor
Carolyn Yates (Botwood) Female Hockey Chair
Ken Chafe (Goulds) Hockey Development Chair
Don Kelly (Mount Pearl) Referee in Chief
Gerry Evans (Mount Pearl) Past President

Council and Committee members:

Minor Vice Chair Ed O’Brien
Minor Director Dec Lacour
Minor Director Darrin Murray
Minor Director Morgan Anderson
Minor Area Director Terry Clarke
Minor Area Director Wendy Penney
Minor Secretary Lynette Hiscock
Junior Vice Chair Charlie Kearsey
Junior Director George Bursell
Junior Director Ron Downey
Junior Director Lloyd Bursey
Junior Secretary Bern Tobin
Senior Vice Chair Andy Brake
Senior Director Clyde Williams
Senior Director Donald Webber
Senior Director Joe Maynard
Senior Director Jared Butler
Senior Secretary Seamus O’Keefe
Female Area Coordinator Tracey Hatcher
Female Area Coordinator Heidi Hefford
Female Area Coordinator Sharon Major
Female Area Coordinator Tina Martin


For more information please contact
Craig Tulk Executive Director Hockey NL
P.O. Box 176 Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2A 2J4
(709) 489-5512 (O)

(709) 489-2273 (F)

[email protected] www.hockeynl.ca