Introduction to Competition – (Formerly Part A and Part B Courses)

Friday, March 14 (6:30-10:30) and Saturday, March 15 (9:00am-5:00pm)
Modules: Nutrition for the Athlete, Practice Planning, Making Ethical Decisions
Location: Grenfell College, Room AS 216, Corner Brook

Friday, March 21 (6:00pm-10:00pm) and Saturday March 22 (9:00am-5:00pm)
Module: Nutrition for the Athlete, Practice Planning, Making Ethical Decisions
Location: Sport NL Building, 1296A Kenmount Road, Paradise

Friday, March 28 (6:30pm-10:30pm) and Saturday, March 29 (9:00am-5:00pm)
Module: Teaching and Learning Basic Mental Skills, Design a Basic Sport Program
Location: Grenfell College, Room AS 216, Corner Brook

Friday, April 5 (7:00pm-9:00pm), Saturday, April 6 (9:00am-5:00pm) and Sunday, April 7 (9:00am-1:00pm)
Module: Teaching and Learning Basic Mental Skills, Design a Basic Sport Program
Location: Sport NL Building, 1296A Kenmount Road, Paradise

Competition Development Courses
*Location for all Competition Development Courses is Sport NL, 1296A Kenmount Road

1. Prevention and Recovery: Tuesday, February 4 and Wednesday, February 5 (6:00pm-10pm each night)
2. Leading Drug Free Sport: Wednesday, February 26 (6:00pm-10:00pm)
3. Psychology of Performance: Tuesday, March 11 and Wednesday, March 12 (6:00pm-10pm each night)
4. Coaching and Leading Effectively: Sunday, March 30 (9:00am-5:00pm)
5. Managing Conflict: Wednesday, April 16 (6:00pm-10:00pm)
6. Developing Athletic Abilities: Monday, April 28 and Tuesday, April 29 (6:00pm-10pm each night)

Professional Development Courses
Did you know Coaching Association of Canada has a new Professional Development policy? Check it out at http://www.coach.ca/maintenance-of-certification-s16745

1. Fundamental Movement Skills: Saturday, May 3 (8:30am-12:00pm)
Location: St. John’s Area (TBA)
2. Resistance: Saturday, May 3, (1:00pm-5:00pm)
Location: St. John’s Area (TBA)

Through funding provided to Coaching NL from the Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, all courses offered by Coaching NL are available at no cost to participants.  This provides coaches with a unique opportunity to start or enhance their coaching education and certification. To register for a course in your area please contact:

1. St. John’s- Bill Taggart (btaggart@sportnl.ca)
2. Corner Brook – Dave Carroll (dcarroll@grenfell.mun.ca)

Questions?
Contact Bill Taggart by email (btaggart@sportnl.ca) or phone (576-4979)
Visit www.coachingnl.ca for all Coaching NL info