For Immediate Release

June 9, 2019

Hockey NL held their Annual General Meeting and Annual Awards Banquet and Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony last night at the Albatross Hotel in Gander with the following receiving awards.

Induction into the Provincial Hockey Hall of Fame

Player Category: Sheldon Currie, Pat Dempsey, Harold Druken and Bob O’Neil

Builder Category: Dec Lacour

Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award: Tracey Coady, Southern Shore Minor Hockey Association 

Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award: Avalon Minor Hockey Association

Minor Hockey Meritorious Awards:

Western:  Brian Roberts, Stephenville Minor Hockey Association

Tri Pen:  Leigh Ann Ryder of the Bonavista Trinity Minor hockey Association

Northern:  Paul Hope, Labrador West Minor Hockey Association

Eastern:  Donnie Power, Northeast Minor Hockey Association

Central:  Ann Sheppard, Bay D’Espoir Minor Hockey Association 

Ray Bowe Award of Merit: Iain Hollett, CBS

Junior Hockey Meritorious Award: Brian Ryan, Conception Bay North

C.J. McCarthy Memorial Senior Award: Pat Rose, Conception Bay Blues

Female Hockey Promotion Award: Denise Fagan, Mount Pearl

Joe Byrne Development Award: Debbie Bouzane, Gander

Ron Healey Memorial Award: Kevin Barrett, Gander

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador announced their annual scholarship recipients:

Minor Hockey Scholarship for this season is Josh Griffin, Cee Bees Minor Hockey Association and Mark Fowlow of the Bay D’Espoir Minor Hockey Association. 

2019 Jim Stirling / B.F. Lorenzetti Scholarship for this season is Emily Parsons, St. John’s


Hockey NL

32 Queensway

P.O. Box 176

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

A2A 2J4