April 8, 2018

Immediate Release

Clarenville, NL – Veteran forward, Keith Delaney, fired two goals as the Clarenville Ford Caribous knocked off the St. John’s Caps 5-2 to take a two nothing series lead in the best of seven Herder Memorial Championship on Saturday afternoon in Clarenville.  Stalwart defenseman, Brandon Roach chipped in with a goal on the power play while Chad Earle and Justin Pender added the other singles.  

Scoring for the Caps were Cody Squires and Ryan Power. 

Tyler Whiffen earned the win in goal for the Caribous stopping 19 of 21 shots while Kyle Downer suffered the loss for the Caps facing 39 shots.

The Caps took a first period lead on the second consecutive night. They were skating and finishing checks, but Caribous coach Rebecca Russell said she was pleased with her team’s response. “We know exactly what to expect with the Caps and our team brought our game to another level and I am happy with our physical play. I am sure the fans got to see a great game today”.

The series next weekend shifts back to the Jack Byrne Arena in Torbay for games three, four and five, if necessary.  “They {Caps} are not going to give up and I expect our team to bring the same game as we have been. We are only half way where we want to get to”, remarked Russell. 

The Herder Memorial Trophy was first presented by Ralph Herder of the Evening Telegram Limited in honor of the hockey playing Herder Family, wo founded the Evening Telegram in 1879. The trophy is emblematic of the All Newfoundland Senior Hockey Championship. The St. John’s Capitals have won seven Herder titles and last competed for the coveted trophy in 1990. The Cataracts are vying for their fourteenth Herder championship.

All games will be webcasted by Hockey NL’s and fans who can’t get to a game can watch via the following link. http://tv1.ca/4841056

Hockey NL will also be having live scoring, statistics and news. Hockey fans can follow on http://www.theherder.ca/ and via twitter @HkyNL

For more information, please contact:


Craig Tulk
Executive Director
Hockey NL
[email protected]