March 15, 2013

Harbor Grace, NL- Jordan Escott got the game winner 11:49 into the third period to break a two-two tie and the Eastlink Cee Bee Stars edged the Clarenville Carious in game three of the 2013 Herder Memorial Championship brought to you by the Telegram at the S.W Moores Memorial Stadium in Harbor Grace this evening by a score of 3-2.  Robert Slaney and Grant Kenny drew assists on the game winner.


The Cee Bees, who were the lowest seeded team in the playoffs, now lead the series surprisingly 3-0 in the best of seven affair.


Ray Dalton of the Cee Bees opened the scoring by faking a shot and stepping in the middle of the ice with a shot that beat Caribous goaltender, Jason Churchill with just over three minutes left in first period.


The Caribous evened the match half way through the second when Stephen Oates pushed one by Mark Yetman of the Cee Bees with assist going to Steve Yetman and Jordan Smith. 


However, the Cee Bees took the lead again in the closely checked game on the power play with five minutes left in the second stanza when defensemen Doug O’Brien got a shot through a maze of players with Slaney and Mike Dyke getting helpers on the goal.



But once again the Caribous knotted the game when Matt Bragg scored from Ryan Desrosiers and Blake Gallagher with 12:48 left in the third period. 


The stage was then set for Escott’s game winner and the capacity crowd went hysterical for the home team.
The Cee Bees can take the historical trophy with a win tomorrow night as game four is set for  7:30 pm. at the SW Moores Memorial Stadium in Harbor Grace,