Hockey NL Logo


telegram logo





March 19, 2016

Immediate Release

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL – Brandon Bussey led the Grand Falls Windsor Cataracts in game one of the 2016 Herder Memorial Championship brought to you by the Telegram firing two goals in a 6-0 victory over the St. John’s Capitals on Saturday night in Grand Falls-Windsor.   Danny Wicks opened the scoring at 5:33 seconds in the opening stanza when he dug out a rebound on St. John’s Capitals goaltender Kyle Downer.  Andre Gill, Andrew Brennan and Greg Hoffe were the other goal scores for the Central West Senior Hockey League Champs.  A.J Whiffen made 21 saves in a shutout in the win and was presented the President’s Award prior to Game one as the province top goaltender.  Downer faced 35 shots in the lost.  Cam Fergus of the Cataracts was presented the Gus Soper Memorial Award for the MVP in the regular season.

The best of five series will continue tomorrow with a matinee game at 1:30 pm at the Joe Byrne Memorial stadium.  The series will then shift to the Jack Byrne Arena in Torbay for game three on Friday, March 25th at 7:30 pm which is expected to be an electrifying atmosphere.  Game four, if necessary, will be played at the Jack Byrne Arena on Saturday, March 26th at 7:30 pm, with game five, if it goes the limit, on Sunday, March 27th at 2:00 pm in Torbay.

The Herder Memorial Trophy was first presented by the Evening Telegram Limited in honor of the hockey playing Herder Family, who founded the Evening Telegram in 1879. The trophy is emblematic of the All Newfoundland Senior Hockey Championship.  The St. John’s Capitals have won seven Herder titles and last competed for the coveted trophy in 1990.  The Cataracts are vying for their fourteenth Herder championship.

All games will be webcasted by Hockey NL’s partner Bell Aliant TV One and fans who can’t get to a game can watch via the following link.

Hockey NL will also be having live scoring, statistics and news. Hockey fans can follow on

For more information, please contact:



Craig Tulk

Executive Director

Hockey NL

[email protected]