June 11,  2017

For Immediate Release


Gander, NL- Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador held their Annual General Meeting and Annual Awards Banquet and Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony last night at the Albatross Hotel in Gander with the following receiving awards.

Induction into the Provincial Hockey Hall of Fame

Player Category: Glenn Critch, Ed Kearsey and Michael Ryder

Builder Category: Kevin Fagan

Athlete/Builder: Derek Clancey and Darryl Williams 

Elected as Life Members of Hockey NL– Dec Lacour, Gerry Taylor and Kenny Williams

Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award: Joe Murley, North East Minor Hockey Association.

Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award: Paradise Minor Hockey Association

Minor Hockey Meritorious Awards:

David Cheeks (Gander, MHA), Curtis Butt, (Channel Port aux Basque MHA), Keith Fillier, (Clarenville and Area MHA), Rick Delaney, (Labrador West MHA), Tim Power, (St. John’s MHA).


Ray Bowe Award of Merit: Eddie Russell (Conception Bay Regional)

Junior Hockey Meritorious Award: Kenny Williams (Southern Shore Breakers)

C.J. McCarthy Memorial Senior Award: Ivan Hapgood (Clarenville Caribous)

Female Hockey Promotion Award: Carolyn Yates, (Botwood)

Joe Byrne Development Award: Rebecca Russell, (Clarenville and Area Minor Hockey Association)

Ron Healey Memorial Award: Ted Murphy (St.John’s)

President Award: Gerry Taylor (Mount Pearl) and Carolyn Yates (Botwood)

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador announced their annual scholarship recipients:

The recipient of the 2017 Minor Hockey Scholarship for this season is Luke Fowlow, Bay D’Espoir MHA

The recipient of the 2017 Jim Stirling / B.F. Lorenzetti Scholarship for this season is Callie Langmeade, Flatrock


The recipient of the 2017 Wayne Mercer Memorial Scholarship for this season is Andrew Bailey, St. John’s

The Executive Committee for Hockey NL for the next two years (2017-2019) that were elected today:


Jack Lee (Goulds) President
Murray Roberts (Botwood) Vice President
Charlie Kearsey (St. John’s) Chair – Junior
Gary Gale (Hampden) Chair – Senior
Arnold Kelly (Goose Bay) Chair – Minor
Debbie Bouzane (Gander) Female Hockey Chair
Ken Chafe (Goulds) Hockey Development Chair
Ed Flood (Corner Brook) Referee in Chief
Gerry Evans (Mount Pearl) Past President



For more information or for award winner photos of recipients, please contact Craig Tulk Executive Director, Hockey NL.   A full release will be distributed on Monday June 12, 2017 to report on some new initiatives coming forward in the 2017-2018 hockey season.