Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador held their Annual Awards Banquet and Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony last night with the following receiving awards.

Hockey Hall of Fame Player Category:  Clobie Collins, J.C. Garneau and John Slaney

Builder: Leo Rose, Marvin Ryder and Glen Stanford DSC_7882

Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award: Jack Brenton of Marystown Minor Hockey Association

Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award: Conception Bay Regional Minor Hockey Association

Minor Hockey Meritorious Awards: Levi Warren (Bonavista), Melvin Jacobs (Lewisporte), Lisa Robinson (Rocky Harbour) Michelle Burt (Churchill Falls), Terry Clark (Labrador City)

Junior Hockey Meritorious Awards: Ed Clarke (Blaketown)

Hockey Canada Junior Hockey Recognition Award: Derrick Hutchens (St. John’s)

C.J. McCarthy Memorial Senior Award: Gerard Martin (Corner Brook)

Female Hockey Promotion Award: Wendy Penney, Cee Bees Minor Hockey Association

Joe Byrne Development Award Honor Roll: Megan Frizzell (Burnt Cove)

Ron Healey Memorial Award: Colin Abbott (Portugal Cove)

Gold Stick Pins Joe Maynard (Flatrock), Tamar Hobbs (Grand Falls-Windsor) and Craig Tulk (Grand Falls-Windsor)

President Award:   Gerry Evans (Mount Pearl) and Ken Chafe (Goulds)

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador announced their annual scholarship recipients:

B. F. Lorenzetti & Associates Amy Nemec (St.John’s)

Wayne Mercer Memorial Scholarship Recipient: David McCarthy (Corner Brook)

Minor Hockey Scholarships: Jeremy Billard (Lake Melville Minor Hockey Association) and Devin Whelan (Placentia Minor Hockey Association)

Cooperators Junior Hockey Scholarship:  Matthew Downer (St. John’s)

For more information or for award winner photos of recipients please contact Craig Tulk Executive Director Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador (709) 489-5512(O) (709) 486-0442 (C)

Attached photo is the Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees Back l.r. J.C Garneau, Leo Rose, John Collins (son of the late Clobie Collins) and Glen Stanford. Front l.r. Mary Slaney (mother of John Slaney) and Roseanne Ryder (wife of the late Marvin Ryder).