Dr. Jared Butler elected President for a two-year term


June 25, 2023

For Immediate Release

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL-   Jared Butler, from Grand Falls-Windsor, was elected President during the Hockey NL’s Annual Meeting in Gander this weekend.  Butler was serving as interim president for the provincial association since September 2022 and was chosen by the voting members at the Albatross Hotel on Saturday.  This was the first election, whereby, the entire membership had the opportunity to cast a ballot for the position of President of the corporation as prior to the Governance Reform in 2021, the role was elected by the Directors.  The central area native, was Vice President since 2019 and served on Senior Hockey Provincial Council for several years prior.

The membership approved some By-Law Changes that address dispute resolution processes and committee structures to better serve the membership.  The annual report delivered by Hockey NL indicated a very successful season, as hockey had its first full season without Covid 19 pauses since 2018-19, and participation numbers increased by eight percent.

Hockey NL held their election for eleven Board positions as well as thirteen council positions that were up for election. 

Hockey NL Board 2023-2025

Jared Butler – President

Trevor Murphy- Vice President

Derek Coffey-Treasurer

Brandon Baird-Director

Tracy Hayley-Director

Arnold Kelly- Director

Doug Tibbo -Director

Adam Foote-Director at Large

Gillian Sweeney-Director at Large

Garry Dove- Director, Hockey Development

Ed Flood-Director, Referee in Chief


Council Positions 2023-2025


Tracey Hatcher – Chair, Female

Maria Penney- Vice Chair, Female

Heidi Hefford-Central Member, Female

Tony Lambert – Eastern Member, Female


Gonzo Bennett   – Chair, Minor

Leigh-Ann Ryder- Vice Chair, Minor

Neil Keeping -Western Member, Minor

Wendy Penney- Tri Pen Member, Minor


Charlie Kearsey– Chair, Junior

Boyd Hillier -Vice Chair, Junior

Nicolas Hillier- Member at Large, Junior


Gary Gale –Chair, Senior and Adult Recreation

Joe Maynard-Vice Chair Senior and Adult Recreation


For more information please contact,


Craig Tulk

Pronouns (He/Him)

Executive Director, Hockey NL

Tel:  709-489-5512

Email:  [email protected]