Date of Birth: 1934
Place of Birth:  Grand Falls, NL
Inducted: 2021 (Builder Category)

Bob Molloy’s induction in the Builders Category couldn’t be more appropriate, as he literally helped build the ‘House of Hockey’ in his hometown of Grand Falls-Windsor.

His involvement with hockey began in 1969 when he joined the Grand Falls Stadium Committee. One year later, he took over the role as the organization’s treasurer, and remained in that post for three years.

In 1974, the stadium committee became the Grand Falls Cataracts Hockey Club, with Bob serving as that organization’s general manager; a job he held onto for the next 12 years until the Cataracts folded.

During that time, Bob helped build a championship-calibre senior hockey team, as the Cataracts captured back-to-back Herder Trophies as provincial champions between 1980 and 1982. The titles came exactly a decade after Grand Falls won two-straight Newfoundland Senior Hockey League championships, when Molloy was still the club’s treasurer.

As General Manager, Bob’s duties went beyond assembling the right mix of players to form a championship-winning squad. He was also tasked with raising money to keep the organization going.

During his career, Bob spearheaded fund-raising efforts that brought approximately one million dollars into the Cataracts’ coffers.

Bob often made personal sacrifices to keep senior hockey alive in Grand Falls; going so far as to use his car and personal insurance policies as collateral to obtain loans from the bank in order for the Cataracts to have enough cash to start the season.

Bob even once asked his mother for a $20,000 loan prior to help pay the Cataracts’ bills. Like any good mother, Mrs. Molloy gave her son the cash – and he promptly paid her back in full at the end of the season.

Bob also had a keen eye for talent; signing a solid list of players that included Tony White, Don Howse, and Terry Ryan Sr; all of whom eventually went on to play in either the National Hockey League or World Hockey Association, and who Bob now joins as inductees in the Newfoundland and Labrador Hockey Hall of Fame.