For Immediate Release

Hockey NL held their Annual General Meeting and Annual Awards Banquet and Hockey Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony last night at the Albatross Hotel in Gander with the following receiving awards.

Induction into the Provincial Hockey Hall of Fame

Player Category: Ryane Clowe, Daniel Cormier, James Heale, and Kevin Morrison

Builder Category: Bonnie Evans

Athlete/Builder: Robert Jackman (posthumously) and Cecil Thomas

Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award: Genny Duffenais, Stephenville Minor Hockey Association 

Minor Hockey Association of the Year Award: United Towns Minor Hockey Association

Minor Hockey Meritorious Awards:

Western:  Joe Reid, Gros Morne Minor Hockey Association, TriPen:  Kyle Paul, Marystown Minor Hockey Association, Northern:  Keith Leonard, Lake Melville Xtreme Minor Hockey Association, Eastern:  Mark Noseworthy, Avalon Minor Hockey Association and Central:  Hubert Spurrell, Beothic Minor Hockey Association

Ray Bowe Award of Merit: Todd Horwood, Grand Falls-Windsor

Junior Hockey Meritorious Award: Bill Strickland, St. John’s

C.J. McCarthy Memorial Senior Award: Clyde Williams, Deer Lake

Female Hockey Promotion Award: Edgar Balsom, Clarenville Area Minor Hockey Association

Joe Byrne Development Award: Glen McCarthy, Stephenville

Ron Healey Memorial Award: Fred Slade, Clarenville

President Award: Charlie Kearsey, St. John’s and Debbie Bouzane, Gander

Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador announced their annual scholarship recipients:

Minor Hockey Scholarship for this season is Liam Buckley, Goulds Minor Hockey Association and Emily O’Brien, Bonavista Trinity Minor Hockey Association

 Jim Stirling / B.F. Lorenzetti Scholarship for this season is Donovan Warren, Arnold’s Cove

Wayne Mercer Memorial Scholarship for this season is Robin Murphy, St. John’s 

Gold Stick Pin:  Garry Dove-Goose Bay, Jack Lee-Goulds, Arnold Kelly-Goose Bay


Hockey NL

32 Queensway

P.O. Box 176

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

A2A 2J4


Office:  709-489-5512

Fax:  709-489-2273