April, 7, 2013
The St. John’s Hickman Automotive Group Caps claimed the provincial Junior B title last night hammering the Stephenville Jets 15-2 in the Championship game of the 2013 Veitch Memorial tournament.


Joey Trenholm fired six goals in the game for the Caps, while Matthew Couglan, Justin Walsh and Alex Doyle each scored two goals apiece.  Other scores for the provincial champs were Josh Thornhill, Thomas Murphy and Kyle McGuirk claiming singles.  Josh White and Garrett Bennett replied for the Jets.   Walsh was the player for the game for the Caps and goaltender Steven Hancock was the player of the game for the Jets.

The Caps will now represent Newfoundland and Labrador at the 2013 Don Johnson Memorial Atlantic Championships in Moncton, NB from April 23-28, 20013.

The Veitch Memorial Trophy was first played for in 1953 in which Grand Falls were awarded the trophy. The trophy was presented by the Buchan’s Social and Athletic Club in memory of John, Cyril and Phillip Veitch, for perpetual competition. This trophy is to be awarded to the provincial championship team in the highest category of junior. The trophy has been up for competition over 60 years and has been played 46 times.

Hockey NL announced the individual award winners at the conclusion of the tournament and they are as follows:

Mel Andrews Trophy (MVP) – Robert Hynd

Don Johnson Trophy (Goaltender Award) – Stephen Hancock

Ambrose O’Reilly Trophy (Most Gentlemanly & Effective Player) – Matthew Couglan

Craig Tulk
Executive Director
Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador
P.O. Box 176
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL
A2A 2J4
(709) 489-5512 (O)
(709) 486-0442 (C)
(709) 489-2273 (F)
[email protected]