April 4, 2017

Immediate Release

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL –   The Harbour Grace Ocean Enterprise Cee Bee Stars poses for a team picture after winning their ninth Herder Memorial Championship brought to you by The Telegram on Sunday afternoon.  Cee Bees defeated the Clarenville Ford Caribous 4-3 to win the 2017 championship in five games.



Kenny King led the way for the Avalon East Senior Hockey League Champs with two goals, including the game winner, while Lucas Goobie and Daniel Sparkes added singles.  Ryan Delaney, Justin Pender and Ryan Desrosiers replied for the Caribous.

A.J Whiffen was the winning goaltender, while Jason Churchill took the loss in net for the Caribous.

Whiffin was awarded the Cliff Gorman Memorial Trophy as the series Most Valuable Player after the game.

The Herder Memorial Trophy was first presented by Ralph Herder of the Evening Telegram Limited in honor of the hockey playing Herder Family, who founded the Evening Telegram in 1879. The trophy is emblematic of the All Newfoundland Senior Hockey Championship.

For more information, please contact:



Craig Tulk

Executive Director, Hockey NL

P.O. Box 176

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

A2A 2J4

[email protected]

709-489-5512 office

709-486-0442  cell

709-489-2273 fax