Date of Birth: 1942
Place of Birth: Harbour Main, NL
Inducted: 2019 (Builder Category)

“Dec” LaCour has spent almost a lifetime involved with minor hockey — 42 years to be exact.  During those 42 years, LaCour spent 26 with the Newfoundland Amateur Hockey Association’s (later rebranded Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador) Minor Council.

After helping with novice and atom divisions in Wabush, LaCour moved back to his native Harbour Main where he quickly got involved with the Conception Bay Central Minor Hockey Association.

The following year, C.B.C. Minor was affiliated with the provincial association and LaCour served for 13 years on the C.B.C. executive, 10 as president.

During his time as president, he served five years on the C.B.S. Stadium Commission, and he was instrumental in having teams enter Purolator Cup (later called Irving Oil Cup) provincial bantam play.

LaCour would become synonymous with AA bantam play, serving for 25 years as the Branch representative for the championship.

He was awarded the Meritorious Award for outstanding service to minor hockey in 1984, and in ’87 was awarded the Brian Wakelin Executive of the Year Award. Four times he won the Norm Doyle Executive of the Year Award.

During his time as Eastern Director, LaCour was instrumental in the merging of the C.B.C. minor association with C.B.S. minor to form the CBR Minor Hockey Association, which was one of the largest in the province.

LaCour is a life member of both Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador and its Minor Council.