CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – Hockey Canada’s 94th Annual General Meeting (AGM), attended by more than 250 delegates from across the country, wrapped up Saturday at the Delta Prince Edward after two days of discussion about what will benefit the growth and development of Canada’s game.

Hockey Canada’s 2013 AGM brought together the governing body’s board of directors, officers, life members, associate members and representation from all 13 branches, as well as from councils that oversee female hockey, junior hockey, minor hockey, senior hockey and hockey development.

Body-checking rule change approved at 2013 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting

·         A modification to playing rule 6.2b was approved, removing body-checking from Peewee levels and below within leagues governed by Hockey Canada, starting in 2013-14.

o    In addition to this rule change, a work group has been directed to build a mandatory national checking and instructional resource program to support the progressive implementation of checking skills at the Novice to Peewee levels to better prepare players for body-checking at the Bantam and Midget level.

Hockey Canada Board of Directors for the 2013-14 season (not including the 13 branch presidents, who are elected at branch annual general meetings)

Chair:                                       Jim Hornell (Grand Falls, N.L.)

Executive vice-chair:                 Joe Drago (Sudbury, Ont.)

Vice-chairs at large:                  Michael Brind’Amour (St-Charles-Borromée, Que.)

Terry Ledingham (Bon Accord, Alta.)

Karen Phibbs (London, Ont.)

Ed Pupich (Schumacher, Ont.) 

Barry Reynard (Dawson Creek, B.C.)

Past chair:                                 Michael Bruni (Calgary, Alta.)

Council representatives:           Joanne Hughes, Female Council (Cole Harbour, N.S.)

                                                Gordon Whitlock, Hockey Development Council (Cornwall, P.E.I.)

                                                Bill Chow, Junior Council (Prince Albert, Sask.)

                                                John Clements, Minor Council (Burlington, Ont.)

                                                Dean Filane-Figliomeni, Senior Council (Schreiber, Ont.)

CHL representative:                    Gilles Courteau, Canadian Hockey League (Montreal, Que.)

Athlete representatives:            Sami Jo Small, female athlete representative (Winnipeg, Man.)

                                                Gord Sherven, male athlete representative (Weyburn, Sask.)

Special Advisory Council:           James Mays, referee-in-chief (Prince Albert, Sask.)

Jean Labonté, sledge hockey representative (Ottawa, Ont.)


As the AGM concluded, Hockey Canada recognized outgoing officer Claude Allain (Gatineau, Que.) and outgoing past chair Ken Corbett (Carleton Place, Ont.) for their longtime service to the organization.

Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting kicked off Thursday, May 23 and included a banquet on the evening of Friday, May 24 that honoured nine deserving award recipients who have all had a significant impact on the hockey community.

The 2014 Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting will be hosted in Calgary, Alta.

For more information on Hockey Canada, its teams, events and programs, visit



André Brin                                                                                 Francis Dupont      

Director, Communications                                                            Manager, Media Relations   

Hockey Canada                                                                           Hockey Canada     

(403) 777-4557                                                                             (403) 777-4564       

[email protected]                                                                [email protected]    


Jason La Rose                                                                             Kristen Lipscombe

Coordinator, Content Services                                                       Coordinator, Communications

Hockey Canada                                                                           Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4553                                                                             (403) 284-6427

[email protected]                                                             [email protected]


Keegan Goodrich

Coordinator, Media Relations

Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484

[email protected]