Hockey NL, in partnership with 2015 Allan Cup Steering Committee, announced Monday, the site selection process and important dates for the 2015 Allan Cup National Senior AAA Championship. 

Hockey NL was awarded the prestigious and historic championship in May of this year, and has since established a Steering Committee to determine the site and to work with the successful host committee on delivering a first class championship.   Members of the Committee include Bill Noseworthy (as chair), Fraser Russell, Chris Crosbie, Brian Casey and Angus Head. 

Noseworthy feels this will be an exciting event for our province.  “Our committee is really excited about being involved in this major national championship and we look forward to some interesting bids from the Senior A teams in the province”, remarked Noseworthy.  

The eleven (11) – game, six (6) – day tournament will be held around the third week in April and will feature five regional championship teams and the host team from NL.

The committee is now accepting bids from teams and leagues, with a deadline of January 15th, 2013.  The committee will then review the applications with an announcement of the successful site to be made March 1, 2013.   Interested Teams and Leagues are asked to contact the branch office to obtain a bid package.

For more information on the bid package, please contact the branch office of Hockey NL at 709-489-5512

Allan Cup:

Sir H Montague Allan donated the Allan Cup in 1909 shortly after the Stanley Cup became the championship trophy of the professional hockey clubs.  The trophy is now emblematic of senior AAA amateur hockey championship inCanada. 

Hockey NL has won the trophy twice, with the Corner Brook Royals claiming the trophy in 1986 and the Clarenville Caribous winning the trophy as recent as 2011.

Craig Tulk

Executive Director

Hockey NL

P.O. Box176

Grand Falls-Windsor, NL

A2A 2J4

(709) 489-5512 (O)

(709) 486-0442 (C)

(709) 489-2273 (F)

[email protected]