June 12, 2016


For Immediate Release

Gander, NL- Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador held their Annual General Meeting this weekend in Gander with delegates representing all associations, leagues and teams in the province.

A summary of some the items reported during this year’s AGM include:

Player Registration has grown by over five percent from the previous season and there are now over 10,000 players registered in minor hockey in this province with more than 1,800 being female players.

The Conception Bay Regional Minor Hockey Association will host the 2017 Pee Wee AAA Atlantic Championship being held in the C.B.S. Arena from April 6-9, 2017.

The Minor Hockey delegates agreed to continue with non-body checking programs for Bantam and Midget players in the province next hockey season.

The Female delegates supported the expansion of the current AAA Bantam and Midget Female programs this coming season by establishing a provincial league.

Junior Hockey members will be working on the Don Johnson Cup Atlantic Championship Event Manual and reported that teams are very competitive in the event.

Senior Hockey has agreed to continue with the Avalon East vs Central West Herder Memorial Championship with the series being expanded to a best of seven in 2017.  Dates will be announced later.

The Officers of Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador who will be serving their second year of a two year term:

Jack Lee (Goulds) President
Murray Roberts (Botwood) Vice President
Gerry Taylor (St. John’s) Chair – Junior
Gary Gale (Hampden) Chair – Senior
Arnold Kelly (Goose Bay) Chair – Minor
Carolyn Yates (Botwood) Female Hockey Chair
Ken Chafe (Goulds) Hockey Development Chair
Don Kelly (Mount Pearl) Referee in Chief
Gerry Evans (Mount Pearl) Past President


Council and Committee members elected for the 2016-2017 season,

Minor Vice Chair Ed O’Brien
Minor Director Gonzo Bennett
Minor Director Darrin Murray
Minor Director Morgan Anderson
Minor Area Director Terry Clarke
Minor Area Director Wendy Penney
Minor Secretary Lynette Hiscock
Junior Vice Chair Charlie Kearsey
Junior Director George Bursell
Junior Director Ron Downey
Junior Director Lloyd Bursey
Junior Secretary Bern Tobin
Senior Vice Chair Andy Brake
Senior Director Clyde Williams
Senior Director Donald Webber
Senior Director Joe Maynard
Senior Director Jared Butler
Senior Secretary Seamus O’Keefe
Female Area Coordinator Tracey Hatcher
Female Area Coordinator Heidi Hefford
Female Area Coordinator Sharon Major
Female Area Coordinator Tina Martin

Female Secretary Trish Sullivan