June 9, 2015

For Immediate Release
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL- Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador will be holding their 80th Annual General Meeting at the Albatross Hotel in Gander this coming Friday, June 12th, with the closing plenary session and election of officers on Sunday, June 14th.

This AGM brings together the Association’s Board of Directors, Life Members and representatives from all Minor Hockey Associations, as well as Female, Junior, and Senior Hockey delegates are in attendance to report on the past hockey season and to prepare for the 2015-2016 season.

This meeting will feature the opening resolution and plenary sessions which will provide the opportunity for the branch executive and staff to highlight the number of successes endured in the last season both provincially and nationally. Each individual division of hockey will hold separate sessions on Saturday to report and prepare for their respective category of hockey.

Some of the interesting subjects on the 2015 AGM:

* Workshop with the Referees Division and divisional representatives to enhance the officials program in the province.

*Report on Hockey Canada’s Spring Congress including the discussion on affiliation restrictions and disciplinary sanctions.

* Discussion on the interest to expand on the AAA Female Hockey in the province.

*Tabling of 7 proposed constitutional resolutions.

*Election of Officers

Jack Lee, of Goulds, has completed his second term and fourth year as president of the provincial association and he is quite excited about the weekend. “This has been a banner year for our association. We successfully hosted the Senior AAA Allan Cup National Championship and a bantam female regional championship. Our registration numbers continue to be stable and above national standards, and we have focused on grassroots development over the past year. I am really looking forward to this weekend”, remarked Lee.

Hockey NL will be holding their Annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Award Presentations on Saturday, June 13, 2015. There will be 6 new members of the Hockey Hall of Fame that will be officially inducted as well as presentations of several awards such as the President’s Award, Meritorious Awards, Female Promotional Award, Joe Byrne Development Honor Roll Award, Charlie McCarthy Memorial Award, Gold Stick and the Ron Healey Memorial Award.

Lee stated that it is very important to recognize our volunteers. “It is vital to showcase individuals for their outstanding contribution to hockey in our province and this is always a special night.”

For a complete list of agendas, please visit:  http://www.hockeynl.ca/about/2014-hockey-nl-annual-general-meeting-2/

For more information please contact:

Craig Tulk
Executive Director
Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador
(709) 486-0442
[email protected]