Hockey NL Logo

Hockey NL will be holding their 78th Annual General Meeting in Gander at the Albatross Hotel on Friday June 7th, with the closing plenary session and election of officers on Sunday June 9th.

This AGM brings together the Association’s Board of Directors and representatives from all Minor Hockey Associations, as well as Female, Junior and Senior Hockey delegates are in attendance to discuss issues relating from the past season and to prepare for the upcoming season.

This meeting will feature the opening resolution and plenary sessions which will provide the opportunity for the branch to highlight the number of successes endured in the last season.  Each individual division of hockey will hold meeting sessions on Saturday to report and prepare for their respective category of hockey.   Some of the interesting subjects on the 2013 AGM:

– Report on the Hockey Canada’s Annual General Meeting including the discussion on Body Checking being removed from the Pee Wee Division.

– New E-Learning Education Program for Coaches and Officials

– Tabling of 40 proposed resolutions

– Minor Provincial Mega Tournament structure

– Tournament dates and locations

– Election of Officers

Jack Lee, of Goulds, is the President of Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador and is completing his first term of office and he is quite excited about the weekend. “This has been an excellent year for our association. We successfully hosted two regional championships, our registration numbers continue to be stable and we have improved in our operations of development programs with the hire of a full time technical director.   I am really looking forward to the celebration this weekend”, remarked Lee.

Hockey NL will be holding their Annual Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies and Award Presentations on Saturday, June 8, 2013 at the Albatross Hotel. There will be 6 new members of the Hockey Hall of Fame that will be officially inducted as well as presentations of several awards such as the President’s Award, Meritorious Awards, Female Promotional Award, Joe Byrne Development Honor Roll Award, Charlie McCarthy Memorial Award, Ray Bowe Award of Merit, Gold Stick and the Ron Healey Memorial Award.

Lee stated that it is very important to recognize our volunteers. “It is paramount to showcase individuals for their outstanding contribution to hockey in our province and this is always a special night.”

For more information please contact Craig Tulk, Executive Director of Hockey Newfoundland and Labrador at (709) 486-0442 or e-mail [email protected]