March 26, 2018

ST. JOHN’S – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the finalists for this year’s Provincial Annual Awards. The awards will be presented during the 2018 Stars and Legends Awards Gala slated for April 21, 2018 at the Sheraton Hotel in St. John’s, NL.

“These awards celebrate sporting achievement at the highest level in this province. We get to honour exceptional athletes who are helping put this province on the map as we have seen so much this year!” said Doug Fowler, President, Sport Newfoundland and Labrador. “It’s a pretty powerful event. These athletes are working so hard and deserve the recognition, which we are very proud to make happen.”

The Provincial Annual Awards recognize the best athletic achievements in the past year. The Awards comprise nine categories: Senior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year, Executive of the Year, Official of the Year and Volunteer of the Year. Three finalists from each category have been selected by Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s selection committee, from a list of nominees compiled by 16 Provincial Sport Organizations across the province. The list of finalists can be found below and their biographies are in the backgrounder attached.

Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award:
Camryn Bonia (Athletics)
Maggie Connors (Hockey)
Kate Sullivan (Swimming)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Campbell Clarke (Rugby)
Noah Cumby (Swimming)
Zachary Rose (Hockey)

Volunteer of the Year Award:
Rob Carrol (Gymnastics)
David Coates (Baseball)
Jennifer Powell (Softball)

Executive of the Year Award:
Stan Coffin (Hockey)
Gary Corbett (Softball)
Kevin Higgins (Baseball)

Coach of the Year Award:
Peter Densmore (Rugby)
Allison Kirby (Gymnastics)
Jake Stanford (Soccer)

Official of the Year Award:
Scott Critch (Basketball)
Ashley Hammond (Hockey)
Markus Hicks (Volleyball)

Team of the Year Award:
Grand Falls-Windsor Cataracts (Hockey)
Holy Cross Women’s Soccer Team (Soccer)
Team Gushue (Curling)

Senior Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Sean Cleary (Softball)
Liam Hickey (Sledge hockey, Basketball, ParaSport)
Patrick Parfrey (Rugby)

Senior Female Athlete of the Year Award:
Heather Healey (Baseball)
Julia Howley (Athletics)
Hannah Jardine (Basketball)

This year, Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is again combining two major events – the Newfoundland and Labrador Annual Awards Ceremony and the Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony – into one celebration, the Stars and Legends Awards Gala.

“The Stars and Legends Awards Gala is a celebration that pays tribute to the dedication and accomplishments athletes, coaches and volunteers have made to our province,” said Troy Croft, Executive Director of SportNL. “It’s all about preserving their legacy to inspire generations to come. We have seen great athletes come out of this province over the years and we want to encourage participation, physical activity and the love of sport to everyone.”

Tickets for this year’s Stars and Legends Awards Gala are available for purchase by contacting Sport Newfoundland and Labrador by phone at (709) 576-4932 or by email at [email protected]. To learn more information about this year’s Gala, please visit