sport nl

ST. JOHN’S – Sport Newfoundland and Labrador has announced the finalists for this year’s Provincial Annual Awards. The awards will be presented during the 2014 Stars and Legends Awards Gala on Saturday, April 12th at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s “The Provincial Annual Awards represent the highest level of sporting achievement in our province,” said Rod Nicholl, President, Sport Newfoundland and Labrador. “These athletes have dedicated their lives to training and competing locally, provincially and even internationally and have truly raised the profile –and the bar– for amateur sport in Newfoundland and Labrador.”

The Provincial Annual Awards recognize the best athletic achievements in the past year. The Awards comprise eight categories: Senior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Junior Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year, Executive of the Year, and Volunteer of the Year. Three finalists from each category have been selected by Sport Newfoundland and Labrador’s selection committee, from a list of nominees compiled by 18 Provincial Sport Organizations across the province. The list of finalists can be found below.

Senior Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Sean Cleary (softball), Ciaran Hearn (rugby), Brandon Leaman (boxing)

Senior Female Athlete of the Year Award:
Erica Devereaux (gymnastics), Malorie Harris (soccer), Katarina Roxon (swimming)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year Award:
Owen Daly (swimming), Liam Hickey (wheelchair basketball & sledge hockey), Daniel Kelloway (athletics)

Junior Female Athlete of the Year Award:
Jillian Forsey (athletics), Hannah Jardine (basketball), Connie Lewis (soccer)

Coach of the Year Award:
Brad Hutton (swimming), Jeff Kirk (softball), Jake Stanford (soccer)

Team of the Year Award:
2013 Canada Games Men’s Basketball Team (basketball), NL 3Cheers Pub Men’s Fastpitch Team (softball), St. John’s Under 18A Girls Soccer Team (soccer)

Executive of the Year Award:
Jeff Babstock (soccer), Eric Hiscock (volleyball), Kevin McCarthy (baseball)

Volunteer of the Year Award:
David Coates (baseball), Eugene Murphy (swimming), Chris Young (gymnastics)

This year, Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is again combining two major events – the Newfoundland and Labrador Annual Awards Ceremony and the Newfoundland and Labrador Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony – into one celebration, the Stars and Legends Awards Gala.

“The Stars and Legends Awards Gala honours and celebrates the dedication and accomplishments athletes have made in our province,” said Mr. Nicholl. “I am so proud of these individuals and I am thrilled to present them with this honour.”

Tickets for this year’s Stars and Legends Awards Gala are available for purchase by contacting Sport Newfoundland and Labrador by phone at (709) 576-­‐4932 or by email at [email protected]. To learn more information about this year’s Gala, please visit .

Sport Newfoundland and Labrador is a volunteer organization committed to the promotion and advancement of amateur sport throughout the province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Media Contact:
Troy Croft, Executive Director Sport NL
[email protected]