Halifax, NS – The Team Atlantic Male Under-17 program officially announced today the roster that will represent the Atlantic region at the 2014 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge in Cape Breton next month.

For Team Atlantic, the tournament will be a regional homecoming as it is being held from December 29th to January 4th, 2014 in Port Hawkesbury and Sydney, NS.

This year’s Team Atlantic is comprised of 22 players from the Atlantic region. The team’s breakdown by province is as follows: New Brunswick – 10 players; Nova Scotia – 9 players; Newfoundland and Labrador – 3 players.

The Team Atlantic selection process began at a summer evaluation camp that took place from July 14th to 18th at St. FX University in Antigonish. The process continued throughout the fall as prospective players were evaluated on their seasonal performances with their respective club teams. Final selections were made at this past weekend’s Monctonian Midget Tournament in Moncton.

This year’s World Under-17 Hockey Challenge will mark the last tournament which will see a Team Atlantic team participate. Hockey Canada announced earlier in the year that they will be sending three teams to the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge instead of the traditional five Canadian teams. This will eliminate the Team Atlantic program with Atlantic players having to join another regional program. Details on future regional programs are still being worked out.

Team Atlantic will travel to Cape Breton on December 26th and will have a couple of days set aside for practices and preparations before round robin play begins on December 29th. For a complete tournament schedule and for other tournament details, please visit

Team Atlantic Male Under-17 Official Roster:

Blade Mann-Dixon – Antigonish, NS (Valley Wildcats – MHL)
Frederic Foulem – Dieppe, NB (Stanstead College – CAN Prep)

Luc Deschenes – Fredericton, NB (Victoriaville Tigers – QMJHL)
Adam Holwell – St. John’s, NL (Moncton Wildcats – QMJHL)
Cameron Lee – Ferguson’s Cove, NS (Northwood Prep – US Prep)
Philippe Myers – Dieppe, NB (Rouyn Noranda Huskies – QMJHL)
Andrew Picco – Marystown, NL (Rimouski Oceanic – QMJHL)
Will Thompson – Fredericton, NB (Saint John Sea Dogs – QMJHL)
Nicholas Welsh – Halifax, NS (Shawinagan Cataracts – QMJHL)

Mitchell Balmas – Sydney, NS (Cape Breton Tradesmen – NSMMHL)
William Bower – Saint John, NB (Woodstock Slammers – MHL)
Lane Cormier – Hopewell, NS (Pictou County Weeks – NSMMHL)
Jesse Hamer – Herring Cove, NS (Newbridge Senators – NSMMHL)
Alexander Jacob – Dieppe, NB (Moncton Flyers – NBPEIMMHL)
Jean-Michel LeBlanc – Saint John, NB (Saint John Vitos – NBPEIMMHL)
Nathan Noel – St. John’s, NL (Saint John Sea Dogs – QMJHL)
Layton Parsons – Cole Harbour, NS (Bridgewater Lumberjacks – MHL)
Campbell Pickard – Halifax, NS (Bridgewater Lumberjacks – MHL)
Riley Scott – Bathurst, NB (Miramichi Rivermen – NBPEIMMHL)
Francis Theriault – Paquetville, NB (Campbellton Tigers – MHL)
Colby Tower – Troy, NS (Valley Wildcats – MHL)
Kyle Ward – Sackville, NB (Moncton Flyers – NBPEIMMHL)

Team Atlantic Male Under-17 Staff:
Doug Doull, Head Coach – Moncton NB
Aaron Rice, Assistant Coach – Sydney NS
Jon Greenwood, Assistant Coach – Cole Harbour NS
Scott Gouthro, Goaltending Coach –Sydney NS
Jessica Sears, Therapist – Dieppe NB
Chris Waugh, Equipment Manager – Bedford NS
Brad Taylor, Director of Operations – Bedford NS


Brad Taylor
Team Atlantic, Director of Operations
Hockey Nova Scotia, Development Coordinator
Phone: 902.454.9400
[email protected]